The term first is, MLA Bhupendra Patel will be sworn in Gujarat chief minister on Monday, that is after 2 days of  Vijay Rupani’s surprise exit from the post, Bhupendra Patel was elected as the new Chief Minister of Gujarat on Sunday. Patel is MLA from the Ghatlodia seat. Patel (55) was unanimously elected BJP legislature party leader. His name was proposed by CM Vijay Rupani, whose resignation from the post on Saturday surprised many.

Patel won the 2017 Gujarat Legislative Assembly elections from Ghatlodia constituency, defeating Congress candidate Shashikant Patel.

Bhupendra Patel to take over as 17th Gujarat chief minister

Vijay Rupani (65) resigned on Saturday from the chief minister’s post. It is not clear what prompted the development in Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s home state, where elections to the 182-member Assembly are due in December next year.

Rupani, the fourth chief minister to demit office in BJP-ruled states during the coronavirus pandemic, was sworn in as chief minister – his second stint as CM – in December 2017.

“I have resigned as chief minister of Gujarat,” Rupani told reporters after meeting Governor Acharya Devvrat and submitting his resignation letter.

“I was allowed to serve the state for five years. I have contributed to the development of the state. I will further do whatever is asked by my party,” said Rupani, who completed five years in office on  7th August this year.

He first became the chief minister on August 7, 2016, following the resignation of incumbent Anandiben Patel, and continued in the office after the BJP’s victory in the 2017 Assembly elections.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *